USA Masters Track and Field

Lad Pataki Award for Lifetime Achievement as a Masters Thrower

Throws Award

The Lad Pataki Award is presented annually in honor of Ladislav Pataki (1946-2007). Lad was an outstanding masters thrower with numerous world and American records and championships to his credit. It is presented each year to an outstanding American masters thrower who:

  1. Exhibits consistent excellence in performance (world and American records and championships), not just in the year in which the award is presented but over time;
  2. Consistently encourages and assists fellow competitors;
  3. Sets a standard both in throwing and in sportsmanship that others seek to emulate.
Nominations should be submitted at least one week prior to the annual USA Masters Throws Championships to the USATF Masters Throwing Events Coordinator. The members of the Throwing Events Subcommittee select the recipient and the award is presented at the dinner during the Championships each year.

Recipients of the Lad Pataki Award

2007 Carol Finsrud
2008 Neni Lewis
2009 Betty Jarvis
2010 Tom Gage
2011 Len Olson
2012 Dick Hotchkiss
2013 Vanessa Hilliard
2014 Mary Hartzler
2015 Ed Burke
2016 Carl Wallin
2017 Wendell Palmer